Race Reports

Rd 7 Cardenden 2019


Race Report

Round 7 Cardenden Fife,, Race Report by Jim Grieve

Scottish Twinshock Round 7

Cardenden, Fife

Sunday 25th August 2019

Report by Jim Grieve

So, onto the final motocross race, before the stubble racing will begin and with the preceding weeks weather, a race that some thought would never happen.

Anyway, this was to be a very hot day and with just enough moisture in the ground and some watering of the track at the interval, it would end up a great days racing with only some unavoidable dust. Well done to all involved.

So, the Pre-125cc boys would start off the action, and newly returned from holiday, Willie P would be taking no prisoners, ably followed by Peter o Neil, leading the championship now by 59 points and thinking of keeping that lead intact and getting some strong points.

The podium would be William Penrice in first from Peter o Neil and Jonathan Young in third with a very notable mention to our very fast Jim Baxter taking a superb race 2 win.

The four-stroke class should basically have been called the “Mark Kenny” show such was his commanding margins in his wins from Keith Stanford and Ricky Caldwell.

In the Pre-77 class it would be an emphatic overall win for John Fullerton, newly crowned Kendal classic clubman champion, as the sole rider in the class after CZ mounted Ian Marr would be injured with a dislocated shoulder but who now seems to be doing well – speedy recovery Ian.

Onto the youth class it was to be a superb hat trick of victories taken by the fast riding of Harrison Grossett, followed home by James Forrest in second and Jordan Graham taking third on the rostrum.

The group 2 races would be as exciting as ever with the over 50’s being a triumphant success for John Lamont with three convincing victories but it was a closer affair in the third race with David Watson taking the fight to John and some superb riding by Mike van der Merwe, it would be John Lamont taking first overall from David Watson and Mike van der Merwe in third.

For the twin shock over 300cc class, Jim Grieve would take the red rocket to 1st overall with two firsts and a second, chased home all the way by Gordon Peterson and a fast Richie McFadden, scoring three consistent third places to secure the bronze step of the podium.

The twin shock open class was as exciting as ever, with the three main protagonists all scoring well, but it was to be a three race winning streak for championship leader John Crawford, followed home in each race by Craig Smith for second overall, and also Paul Chiappa, would have a brace of thirds as well, for the third step on the day. A flying Brian Alexander would score not points as he had no transponder.

For the clubman class it would be some more interesting racing, in this fast growing class, with yet another overall winner. Young Kyle McClure would wrestle the KTM home to a very well deserved 1st overall, and through all the battles in this class Callum Laird would stay strong and get some vital championship points, and so it would end up Kyle McClure with the win, followed home by Callum Laird and a deserved third overall for Craig Scott.

The evolution class was won convincingly by Paul Jonty Johnston, throwing the big Honda around for three resounding victories, followed ably home by Tom Grant for an emphatic second overall, with Roy Potts, pipping Mathew Harper for the third step on the podium.

The 2-stroke guys were throwing their machines around the Cardenden track and with many quick riders in this class it would be Robert Bell taking the overall honours with 2 first places and a second, followed to the line by Paul Benham on the Yamaha, in only his second ride of the year, for second overall and solid third place for Bryan Colligan, who would take third, squeezing out the Honda of Allan Shields, who with two race victories, could still not get on the podium due to a breakdown in the first race, well done guys.

The monoshock class is always a thunderously exciting set of races to watch and with a rider fresh from the acerbic nationals, Jason Martin, it was to be very exciting. The class would be won very convincingly by the two stroke of Jason Martin, against the KTM’s of Jordan McDonald and Shaun Robertson, never too far away from each other.

So we had some superb racing, in great conditions and we look forward to the stubble field races next, see you all at Alloa.


Group 1

Pre-77 class

1 John Fullerton

Youth class

1  Harrison Grossett 2 James Forrest 3 Jordan Graham 4 Rory Oxland 5Connel Allardyce 6 Stewart Bagen

Pre 90 125cc class

1  William Penrice 2 Peter o Neil 3 Jonathan Young 4 Damian Carter 5 Kevin rosie 6 Jim Baxter

Fourstroke class

1 Mark Kenny 2 Keith Stanford 3 Ricky Caldwell

Group 2

Twinshock under 300cc class

1 Jim Grieve 2 Gordon Peterson 3 Richie Mcfadden 4 Mike Dobie

Over 50’s

1 John Lamont 2 David Watson 3 Mike van der Merwe 4 Johnny Rutherford 5 Keith Birse 6 Pat Mcshane

Twin-shock open class

1  John Crawford 2 Craig Smith 3 Paul Chiappa 4 Barry Smith  5 Brian Allardyce 6 Alasdair Aitken

Group 3

Clubmen Class

1 Kyle McClure 2 Callum Laird 3 Craig Scott 4 Derrick Bellshaw 5 Adam Curran 6 Peter Rennie

Group 4

Evolution class

1 Paul “PJ” Johnston 2 Tom Grant 3 Roy Potts 4 Mathew Harper 5 Simon Graham 6 Barry Gillian

Two stroke open class

1 Robert Bell 2 Paul Benham 3 Bryan Golligan 4 Allan Shields 5 Liam Smart 6 Zander Martin

Group 5

Monoshock class

1 Jason Martin 2 Jordan Mcdonald 3 Shaun Robertson 4 Colin Mcluckie 5 Callum Carter 6 John Kenny

Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Text Size