Race Reports

Race Report Slamannan 13-6-21


Race Report Slamannan, Falkirk, Report by Jim Grieve

Photographs by Barry Gordon B&M photography and Peter Greenwood

Scottish Twin Shock Round 2

Slamannan, Falkirk

Sunday 13th June 2021

Report by Jim Grieve

Onto the second round of the twin shock championship at a superb location of Slamannan, with terrific weather. This was definitely not a race to be missed.

So onto the racing and the Pre-77 class, four-stroke, youth and novice classes would all be together. There would be some terrific scraps, all the way through these races, and with Sam Sibbald rocketing out of the gates and away to three superb wins for the overall four-stroke position, it would be left to Keith Stanford, Keith Birse, and Andy Malloch to fight for the two other steps on the podium, with Keith Stanford edging out Keith Birse, for second, with his consistent riding and Keith Birse tying on points with Andy Malloch for third, but Keith would take the third step due to his better last race performance.

In the Pre-77 class, again it was great racing to watch as Barry Smith and Kyle McClure would duke it out on these older superbly fettled machines, Barry taking the overall first on the day, with Kyle a very worthy second, taking the third position overall, with some very consistent rides, would be Joe Mclean, on a superbly presented Maico.

In the youth class it would be very close in the first race between Louis Tobin and Mathew Duncan, and even though Mathew would win the final race, it was a deserved Louis who would take first overall, with Mathew second and in third with three steady rides was Stewart Bagen, with a hat-trick of third places for third overall.

Onto the novice class, and it is certainly nice to see riders adapting to their machines, it would be a win for James Deans and a second overall for Jack Young, well done guys.

Moving onto the twin shock open class and there were many leading contenders, and also a few slips and trips on the way to the chequered flag but in the end it would come down to two riders, Brian Alexander and David Houston, with Brian taking the first race and David the second, it would all come down to the third and final encounter. Both riders being very evenly matched and at the flag it would be a win for Brian Alexander by a few seconds and taking the overall for the day with David Houston taking the second spot and a consistent ride from Craig Smith for third overall on the mean black Maico.

In the under 300cc twin shock class it would be yours truly (me), taking the first two race wins and a second to take the overall, and Dean Rutherford taking two seconds and romping home in the third race for the win and a second place overall. A steady ride by Paul Ness on his Yamaha, would see him pip Graham Miller by 1 point and take third overall.

Then we had the Evolution class who were cracking around the new Slamannan track at a fair old pace, slipping into the grassy bermed corners with ease, and at the head of the field it was Tom Grant taking the overall, and being pipped by less than a second in the second race by an equally fast Peter Graham who would take second on the day, with Roy Potts keeping Peter Graham Honest and securing third overall

Next up were the eighth litre evolution class, with some of the closest racing on the day, and it was Graeme Farish proving just two quick for Michael Mclarty, with a rejuvenated William Penrice close on their heels. At the end it would be Graeme taking the overall, from Michael Mclarty and William Penrice would have the third step on the podium, even after a win in the third race. This was certainly a class to watch and it will be interesting to see these races develop as the championship goes on.

Moving onto the over 50’s class and do not let the age of the class fool you, these guys are quick. It would be a Super smooth Kenny Hope taking a hat trick of first places and with it the overall, from a fast moving Morton Hannah who would take second, even after a slight hiccup in the second race. Third overall on the day would be Brian Allardyce, riding out of his skin and pushing his 250cc Yamaha to the max.

The largest number of entries of the race day by far, would be the Clubman race and a superb battle ensued between Max Hamilton and Alex Mowat, with Alex taking two wins and Max taking one win, but it would be race one that would let down Alex’s overall position and so storming onto the top step would be Max Hamilton with the overall and the championship lead as well. Then taking second on the day would be Alex Mowat, with steady rides by Connel Allardyce taking third overall pipping Stuart Wilson by just one point.

For the final block of racing it would be the monoshock and the two stroke class racing together.

In the Monoshock class it was an unfortunate start for Greg Maxwell, who had a bad injury and we are awaiting updates on his injury and progress, get well soon Greg and also Ewan Britton who had a spill on the day as well.

Back to the racing and the three main protagonists would be Jordan McDonald, Robert Bell and Mark Glegg, Jordan McDonald would almost take a hat trick of wins but was beaten to the chequered flag by Robert Bell in race two by under one second, he would still take the overall with some great riding of two wins and a second. Robert Bell taking second overall, with two seconds and a win, with the third race being as close as the second, for some really exciting racing. Mr consistency would be Mark Glegg’s title for the day with three third placings and third overall.

The two stroke race was a hat trick of wins for the very fast Bryan Colligan, showing some great form on the day for the overall win, with Lee McAlister riding very well, to notch up three seconds and take second overall, and Connor Paton from Kingdom off road mcc, pushing his small KTM to take the third step of the podium, well done to everyone and hope to see you all at Cardenden for some more exciting racing.


Pre-77 1) Barry Smith 2) Kyle McClure 3) Joe Mclean 4) Donald Fullerton 5) Gary Britton 6) Craig MacKenzie

Four stroke 1) Sam Sibbald 2) Keith Stanford 3) Keith Birse 4) Andy Malloch 5) Albert Britton 6) Malcolm Miller

Youth Class 1) Louis Tobin 2) Mathew Duncan 3) Stewart Bagen 4) Ben Jackson 5) Brandon Nisbet 6) Ronnie Ingram

Novice 1) James Deans 2) Jack Young

Pre 90 125cc 1) Graeme Farish 2) Michael Mclarty 3) William Penrice 4) Jim Baxter 5) Callum Laird 6) Damian Carter

Twin shock under 300cc 1) Jim Grieve 2) Dean Ruherford 3) Paul Ness 4) Graham Miller 5) David Stanford 6) Mike Dobie

Over 50’s 1) Kenny Hope 2) Morton Hannah 3) Brian Allardyce 4) Robbie Allan 5) Mark Kenny 6) Trevor Guy

Twin-shock open 1) Brian Alexander 2) David Houston 3) Craig Smith 4) John Crawford 5) Paul Chiappa 6) Mark Mason

Clubmen 1) Max Hamilton 2) Alex Mowat 3) Connel Allardyce 4) Stuart Wilson 5) Ross Wood 6) Liam Harvey

Evolution 1) Tom Grant 2) Peter Graham 3) Roy Potts 4) James Haddow 5) Barry Gillian 6) Jordan Doherty

Two stroke open 1) Bryan Colligan 2) Lee McAlister 3) Connor Paton 4) Sam Ness 5) Andrew White 6) Cameron Boan

Monoshock 1) Jordan McDonald 2) Robert Bell 3) Mark Glegg 4) Robert Smith Jnr 5) Calum Kilgour 6) Greg Campbell



Tuesday, May 21, 2024
Text Size